You are hereHistoric Night of Democratic Victory!

Historic Night of Democratic Victory!

Mark Brewer
Nov. 7, 2012

I want to thank every American who participated in this election, whether you voted for the very first time or waited in line for a very long time.... Whether you pounded the pavement or picked up the phone, whether you held an Obama sign or a Romney sign, you made your voice heard and you made a difference. -- President Barack Obama

Friends and fellow Democrats,

Last night was an historic night for President Barack Obama. Democrats made American history by re-electing our nation’s first African-American President, and the campaign also made Michigan history. With 97 percent of precincts reporting, President Obama has won Michigan by a 9 percentage point margin. This is a huge margin in a state where Republicans were hyping their ground game and touting certain victory just a few short days ago, a state which the Republican candidate called home in his youth.

The historical significance of last night’s victory cannot be understated. Michigan has now voted for a Democrat for President SIX consecutive times. (For some historical perspective, consider the fact that Michigan went for FDR just three out of four times.)

President Obama wasn’t the only Democrat to win re-election statewide in Michigan last night. U.S. Sen. Debbie Stabenow cruised to victory against former Congressman Pete Hoekstra, winning by more than 900,000 votes, 58 to 38 percent, according to the most recent numbers. Two years ago Republicans were crowing about their prospects in Michigan, but Sen. Stabenow made a compelling case for her re-election by standing up for the auto industry, fighting for Michigan agriculture and protecting the Great Lakes. In addition, Hoekstra’s extreme, Tea Party views on Medicare and Social Security, the Great Lakes and women’s health care turned out not to be Michiganders’ cup of tea.

For six straight elections since 1996, Michigan Democrats have held onto our two U.S. Senate seats, with Sen. Carl Levin winning his seat in 1996 and being re-elected twice, and now Sen. Stabenow winning her third consecutive Senate race.

In addition to President Obama and Sen. Stabenow’s triumphs, Michigan Democrats had wins down the ballot, as well.

John Dingell, John Conyers, Sandy Levin, Gary Peters and Dan Kildee were elected to Congress. And Democrat Dave Curson won the special election to fill Thad McCotter’s remaining term.

In the House, Michigan Democrats made significant progress toward the majority, picking up a net gain of five seats. In addition, Democrats very nearly knocked off corrupt Speaker Jase Bolger in a heavily GOP district. They are in prime position to finish what they started and retake control in 2014. Bolger remains under investigation by a grand jury.

In an extremely close race for the Michigan Supreme Court, Bridget Mary McCormack has won election to the Court, with Judge Connie Marie Kelley coming within about 100,000 votes of taking the second seat.

The Michigan Democratic Party swept the education board races, with all eight of our candidates winning their races. Democrats now control all of the boards by a 6-2 margin.

Democracy was defended in defeating Proposals 1 and 5. While we are disappointed with the results on Proposals 2 and 4, the fight to protect collective bargaining and home health care continues.

Finally, Democrats picked up seats in many local races. For example, Kalamazoo County will have its first Democratic prosecutor since at least 1976. In Eaton County, Democrats defeated an incumbent sheriff. Oakland County voters retained all of their Democratic countywide officeholders and added two new Democrats as Clerk and Water Resources Commissioner. Democrats also added to their majority on the Macomb County Commission. There are many other examples.

All in all, a great night for Michigan Democrats! But none of it could have been possible without the hard work and dedication of our candidates, supporters and volunteers. Thank you and let’s get ready for 2014!


Mark Brewer
Michigan Democratic Party Chair